It’s that time of year again for the Bal casa. Time to head ’em up and move ’em out! Our European adventure is drawing to a close. Movers arrive in less than a week to pack us up. Having moved dang near every two to three years with a brief exception in early 2000, I have developed a few techniques and tips since my almost constant state of moving began in 1996. I’ll parse these out over a few posts and try to include a video too so it isn’t overwhelming. You need not be military to benefit from this info either. Our job force is more mobile today than ever. The chances of staying in one location get slimmer as people relocate for better opportunities. Moving is stressful BUT that stress can be kept to a dull roar with a little planning. 

Moving can be a great time to declutter and scale down. The good will in Colorado Springs may have cringed everytime they saw us because we brought tons of donation items. The first place I recommend culling is your closet. Here are some guidelines:

  • If it is worn, torn, stained and not fit to be worn outside the house, toss it. Do not donate it!! These items are unserviceable and it creates a strain on charities to sort and toss them. If you won’t wear it, no one else wants to either.
  • If it doesn’t fit but is in good condition, donate it! 
  • If you just aren’t in love with it and cannot remember when you last wore it, donate it. 
  • Go through your shoes and use the same process. Get brutal! 

You’d be shocked at how much you can downsize just by going through your closets. If you are moving cross country or overseas and carriers are transporting your goods, you will need to be sure to pack in a suitcase those clothes you are keeping out of the shipment. I like to make a list of what I think I’ll need to pack. It helps me feel less overwhelmed and gives me a starting point. Tomorrow I’ll post my process for packing a suitcase. I’ll include a video and some lists. You can use this process for relocation travel or travel for pleasure. Let me know in the comments what tips you have for de cluttering your closet!

